Web site update

Just a quick post about a couple of user interface and design changes we just uploaded to the clipmarks site.  The most important change is a substantial redesign of the clip list.  The redesign was aimed at giving much more breathing room to each clip title, making it easier on the eyes and the brain to scan through the list.  Also, we added a time and activity bar  to the header that lets you know how long you have been on a page and how many clips you’ve viewed and popped in that time.  Since Clipmarks is aimed at allowing people to consume information about more topics in less time than any other site, we figured we’d let you know specifically how your time is being spent.  We’ll likely add a close button to it soon for times you don’t want it there.  One other change worth mentioning is that the number of times that a clip has been viewed is now displayed in the lower-right corner of each open clip.  The “expand link will be brought back soon (for now, if you want to expand a clip, double-click inside it).  There are bunch of other little things related to this upload, but that covers most of it.  Some MAJOR (and i don’t use that term lightly) new features are coming soon.

11 responses to “Web site update

  1. Can’t wait for the MAJOR updates. I love the time and activity bar!

  2. Well done guys, you’ve managed to get that done within hours of me clipping “Space for your words to breath” – looks and feels good.

  3. I’m so excited! I clicked on Front Page and there I was! My statement is the QUOTE OF THE DAY!! I had to get my husband to see that.

    There are a few bugs I’ve found with this upgrade.
    I can’t go back to previous page. I have to reload it. The FP is hanging.

    Also, btw, can you change the color of the clip title of the one we are reading? I get confused where I am. Thanks. I love this site!

  4. I like the big clips, much better on the eyes and brain. I can wait for the close button, I’m happily addicted, no problem 🙂 Just kidding. I think this time feature is better served for weekly newsletter reporting in bulk then for individual consumption, I mean, I hardly care how many clips I read and-or popped at any given time. I don’t know what good this information will do to me if I viewed 10 clips today and 100 tomorrow, you know what I mean?

  5. Guys, do I have to say anything? All this stuff is great (accept the timer which reminds now how long I’ve stayed in Clipuniverse) and the look is much more cleaner and userfriendly now.

    Looking forward to the next block rocking updates! Keep on, keep on. You’re great.

    I love you 😉

  6. Guys, is it just me or the RSS feeds for the My Clippers and My Topics takes way too long? I’m not having much luck setting them up anywhere. Please inform. PS: the feed for the home page is okay.

  7. I just wanted to add — again! — that it’s been so wonderful seeing the incremental upgrades to Clipmarks. Such a pleasant surprise to visit and then notice, “Oooh, this wasn’t here before!”

    I also have another feature suggestion:

    Add a way to tell me if an URL has already been clipped! I see Clipmarks conveniently shows the domain name of a clip’s originating source in bold, so if a quick lookup could be done when I clip something — even to the root URL — it’d cut down on redundancy.

    One of the reasons I suggest this is ‘cuz I’ve been seeing duplicate clips, and since we don’t have integrated fulltext search (yet), having the ability to know beforehand, “Oh great, someone else already clipped this!” would save time + trouble.

    Cheerio!

  8. Hi guys, I don’t know if you’ve come across this.. Ma.gnolia has an add-on that tells you if anyone has bookmarked a page. I don’t really know much about the technical stuff but I just thought it might help.

    I’m really excited about the updates. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    I’m really excited about the coming updates. I hope you guys aren’t tired of hearing how wonderful the site is and how great you all are. Keep up the good:)

  9. Okay, I really need to get some sleep. The last part of that message looks so ugly, but you get what I mean.. 😉

  10. Today is July 5 and as of this morning, I haven’t been able to access the clipmarks website. I keep being directed to something called “godaddy.com”. Does anyone know what is going on?

  11. Hi Isabel. Thanks for the heads up. We encountered some problems yesterday with our domain provider. It was fixed within a couple of minutes, but unfortunately the site is still not 100% up everywhere — it definitely should be within a few hours. We’re very sorry to anyone who was affected by this.

Leave a Reply

